Let Me Study

Search My One on One Tutor

Select Your Favourite
Category And Start Learning.

The comparison of the in-demand Scrum certifications PSM and CSM

Scrum is still the most widely used Agile framework, and Agile methodology as a whole continues to be the gold standard. Therefore, in preparation for future requirements, IT workers and project managers should obtain Scrum Master certification.

In the long run, it’s a good plan that will certainly pay off. There are, however, various Scrum certificates accessible. Which should you pick between PSM and CSM?

This article examines the Professional Scrum MasterTM (PSM) and Certified ScrumMaster® certifications (CSM). We will describe both credentials, look into how they differ, what advantages they have, how each certification process works, and how difficult each exam is.

CSM: What Is It?
The first and most well-known Scrum Master qualification is Certified ScrumMaster (commonly known as CSM). The Scrum Alliance® offers the CSM certificate, which attests to candidates’ ability to assist their Scrum teams in operating at peak efficiency. With the certification, candidates may demonstrate that they fully comprehend the Scrum Framework, including its guiding principles and practises. The participants gain a better understanding of the activities, functions, and outputs of the Scrum team as a result. Additionally, qualified professionals should be able to recognise how distractions from both inside and outside their Scrum Teams might affect them as well as effective solutions.

PSM: What Is It?
PSM, or professional scrum master certification, is an advanced title created for scrum masters who want to improve their effectiveness and for experts who want to coach a scrum team. Professionals with PSM certification are aware of the fundamentals of the Scrum Framework, the Scrum Master’s responsibilities, and empirical process theories. The efficacy and efficiency of their Scrum Team, as well as how to accommodate the servant-leadership dynamic and behavioural shifts, should be supported by a professional scrum master.

There are two levels of professional Scrum Master certification: PSM I and PSM II.

The Advantages of PSM over CSM
Both Scrum certifications have their benefits. Here is a list of each advantage.


  • You have the chance to work as a Scrum Master in a variety of fields that use Agile methodologies.
  • A-CSM, CSP-SM, or CST are advanced CSM courses that can be taken after this course as a prerequisite.
  • You learn more about the origins of Scrum and the function of the Scrum Master, as well as acquire knowledge and skill in essential Scrum practises, values, and principles.
  • You may be able to earn more money depending on your region, certification level, and experience.
  • Through the Scrum Alliance, you have improved networking chances with several Scrum specialists.
  • Your peers are more likely to respect you if you hold a CSM certification.


  • You develop a thorough understanding of the framework and other concepts in Scrum.
  • Since top employers always seek out motivated people who enjoy learning, taking the PSM course exhibits this desire, giving you access to improved career chances.
  • You get respect in your company by becoming a certified Scrum expert.
  • For professionals who wish to continue in their careers and enrol in advanced Scrum-related courses like PSM II and PSM III, the course is the ideal place to start.
  • The training keeps you up to date on the most recent Agile developments and introduces you to other Scrum professionals on the Scrum.org network.

PSM vs. CSM Learning Outcomes
You will possess all the abilities necessary to support Scrum teams in operating at their peak efficiency as a certified CSM, including the capacity to overcome obstacles and make effective use of the Scrum framework. Professionals in CSM are referred to as “servant leaders” because they set an example for their teams and foster a positive work environment.

Professionals who successfully complete PSM I certification demonstrate a foundational, fundamental level of Scrum mastery and are well-versed in Scrum’s methodology and jargon. Scrum masters who complete PSM II acquire a greater comprehension of Scrum’s tenets and the capacity to use Scrum in challenging, complex circumstances.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *